Select Page
Kaaron, Aaron, Winter and Joseph

Latest episodes

Episode 16 – Dolls

Join the Cat and crew for an epic wrap-up, recap, clip-show avoidance season finale, with special guest star… drum roll… our very own Aaron Dries.

Episode 15 – Crow

In the penultimate episode of the season, the Cat gets magical with special guest, the illustrious queen of fantasy (and all the animals), Isobelle Carmody.

Episode 14 – Journal

The Cat grapples with life’s big questions in a super extended go-go mix episode with special guest the sensational Sean Williams.

Episode 13 – Herman

The Cat gets technical as unparalleled horror editor Ellen Datlow joins the show from NYC.

Episode 12 – Canon

The Cat gets shonky in this bumper episode with a right-royal guest: the monstrously majestic Garth Nix.

About the show

Let The Cat In is the podcast in which three horror writers and their guests riff on objects, inspiration, and those ideas that scratch at the door, miaowing to be let in.

Canberra-based authors Kaaron Warren, Aaron Dries and J. Ashley-Smith have been meeting up to drink wine and talk shit for ages. At a book launch in 2020, they started a conversation about stories hidden in objects, which took on a life of its own. They recorded a panel for StokerCon 2021 – Let The Cat In: three authors drinking wine and talking shit about objects and whatnot. Attendees of the Con enjoyed it so much that Kaaron, Aaron and Joseph recorded a whole bunch more, opening the conversation out to some of their favourite writers, poets and artists; inviting these creative folks to share what's inspiring them, and what they do when that cat is scratching at the door.

Season 1 guests include JS Breukelaar, Brian Evenson, Kathe Koja, John Langan, Dan O'Malley, Lynda E. Rucker, Melinda Smith, Paul Tremblay, Sean Williams and more!

Listen on Apple Podcasts
Listen on Spotify Podcasts

About us

Kaaron Warren

Kaaron Warren

Multi-award winning author Kaaron Warren has published five novels, seven short story collections and over 200 short stories. Her novel The Grief Hole won all three of the Australian genre awards as well as two literary awards. She was recently given the Peter McNamara Lifetime Achievement Award and was Guest of Honour at World Fantasy 2018, Stokercon 2019 and Geysercon 2019. Her most recent books include the re-release of her acclaimed novel, Slights (IFWG Australia), Tool Tales, a chapbook in collaboration with Ellen Datlow (also IFWG), and Capturing Ghosts, a writing advice chapbook from Brain Jar Press.

Aaron Dries

Aaron Dries

By day, Australian author, artist, and award-winning filmmaker Aaron Dries works within the mental health and homelessness field. By night, he writes frightening and empathetic fiction, including the coming of rage novel House of Sighs, its sequel The Sound of His Bones Breaking, Where the Dead Go to Die (with Mark Allan Gunnells), and the highly-acclaimed novels A Place for Sinners and The Fallen Boys. His short fiction and art have been published in numerous anthologies and magazines domestically and abroad. Cut to Care, his first collection, is slated for release in 2022.

J. Ashley-Smith

J. Ashley-Smith

J. Ashley-Smith is a British–Australian writer of dark speculative fiction. His first book, The Attic Tragedy, won the Shirley Jackson Award. His stories have been shortlisted twice for the Australian Shadows Awards and seven times for Aurealis Awards, winning both Best Horror and Best Fantasy. His novella, Ariadne, I Love You, is available now from Meerkat Press. His short story collection The Measure of Sorrow is due for release in 2023. J gathers moth dust in the suburbs of North Canberra, tormented by the desolation of telegraph wires.

Give us a shout